Tags

, ,

This is my January post for the Stitch From Stash 2014 group.  As of now, I have busted the budget for two months already.  Hopefully, I will make it up with zero spending on stash in later months.  My January spend is on the Old Maid series of silk floss colors by HDF’s Vikki Clayton.  She is offering these limited-edition colors at a reduced price until the end of this month.  Because I had planned on buying these colors even before I joined the group, and because they won’t be available later at this great price, I went ahead with the purchase even if it busted the budget.  Here are the lovelies:

Old Maids_frm

It’s not even one full month into 2014 and I am straying from my goals already, but whatever. This is a free SAL that is being offered by Annalies and Simone, the lovely Dutch ladies at Soed Idee (read all about it here).   I could not pass it up because this was an opportunity to do a big project in just TWO colors, which is a nice change from the zillion colors in Ann Dale.  Moreover, this design is perfect to for the 36×40 uneven linen in my stash that I have been dying to use for a long time.  I auditioned a lot of floss colors for this one and finally settled on a deep, rich pink.  The linen choice was easy because I had only one piece that was long enough to fit all the 106 bands.

We are currently on week 2 of this SAL and six bands have been released so far:

RPW-1-to-6frm

Pattern: Randje Per Week (free pattern)
Designer: Simone & Annalies of Soed Idee
Fabric: HDF 36×40 uneven linen in reddish brown
Threads: HDF Blue Pink (a “failed” color)
Started: January 9, 2014

