Tags

,

Stitching progress has been slow this past week.  A lot of time went into preparing my list of Ann Dale colors that several stitchers had requested.  What started as a spreadsheet ended up being a separate page on my blog because it was really hard to list the colors without pictures.  It’s huge relief to be done with it.

I finished the tree trunk on my CHS Birds & Bees piece.  After grappling with several ideas, I finally chose four variegated colors instead of the four solids listed on the pattern. I was a little nervous how it might turn out, but I think it looks fine. I like the shading that I was able to get with the variegated.  The variegated all had some common component colors, so they blended very well.

I am enjoying stitching this piece so much that I wonder why I didn’t start this sooner – the pattern sat in my stash for over three years!

IMG_0533sm2

Pattern: The Birds & the Bees
Designer: Carriage House Samplings (Kathy Barrick)
Fabric: HDF 40ct Cream
Threads: HDF silks (BeSeeded, BeVexed, Rubbed Fuchsia, Rubbed Dark Gold, Kodiak5139/Quernstones5169/Jackalope5271, Examplar Wattle N Daub, Rubbed Chocolate Version 2)
Started: February 9, 2014