Tags

This is my last finish of 2012. It’s on the back cover of a very old, defunct magazine called Counted Thread, March 1983 issue, provided as an accompaniment to the front cover pattern of Neuschwanstein castle located in Germany. The notes to the pattern state: “Ludwig II, King of Bavaria, who built Neuschwanstein castle, was obsessed with swans, as was his father Maxmillan II. They were used in decorations everywhere”.

The original swan was worked in DMC blue 312. I used HDF, of course! I thought it would be interesting to have the swan itself in dark blue, rather than the surrounding stitches.

IMG_1604sm

I used Glistening Pearls, a custom color I recreated in HDF to replicated DMC’s variegated thread of the same name. This thread is special to me because I was right there as Vikki Clayton dyed it!

IMG_1602sm

Pattern: Royal Swan
Designer: Hendes Verden 1980
Fabric: 35ct HDF Mermaid Blue
Floss: HDF Glistening Pearls (limited edition color)
Stitch Count: 75w x 73h
Finished Design Size: about 4.25 inch square
Started: November 9, 2012
Finished: December 29, 2012

