Tags

This was my last finish for 2014.  It seemed like a small sampler when I started, but it packs in quite a few stitches with many color changes, so it took longer than expected.  I made several mistakes.  Some, such as those in the border vines, I had to redo because the mistakes changed the the overall look and feel of the piece and not in a nice way. Others, such as the inverted triangles(*), I did not have the patience to undo, so I simply made adjustments as I went along. I am pleased with how it turned out although the colors ended up being a bit brighter than I intended.

IMG_0522sm-FrameShop

(*) I was lulled into seeing those triangles in the same size. Big mistake, because in the pattern they are all different sizes. As a result, I was left two stitches short in the cartouche.

IMG_0532sm-FrameShop

Here is the full sampler:

IMG_0524sm-FrameShop

Pattern: Shooters Hill
Designer: Heartstring Samplery
Fabric: HDF 40ct Peach Butter
Threads: HDF silks (Rubbed Old Gold, Umbrage 3465, Kodiak Bear 5125 and 5131, Attar of Roses 1233, SeaWrack 3437/PennyWort 3449/Marsh Grass 3553, Rum Scullion 4333, Liquid Gold 4171, Zebra Dove 5249, Jadeite 2465 )
Started: August 10, 2014
Finished: December 31, 2014

